



Environment Institute of Australia and New Zealand

South East Queensland Division

DATE	Wednesday 21 August 2013	VENUE	Boardroom, Origin Energy, 135 Coronation Drive, Milton
	5.30pm		
MEETING TYPE Annual General Meeting		COPIES	
Chair	Jon Womersley		
Recorder	Danielle Bolton		
PRESENT	As per the attendance sheet		
APOLOGIES	Chris Milligan, Tiffany Thomson		

TOPIC	ACTION	WHO/WHEN
Confirmation of 2012 AGM Minutes (2 Mins)	The minutes from the 2012 Annual general Meeting were approved.	Moved by Brett McLernnan, Seconded by David Carberry
President's Report (10 Mins)	Jon delivered the Presidents report. He highlighted that the past 12 months has seen another busy year. We have held an effective Professional Development Program, we have forwarded submissions to government, we have maintained membership and we have significantly contributed to the National Strategy for the Institute as a whole. Jon showed a graph outlining the growth in membership in both the SEQ and FNQ region over the past 10 years. In terms of the SEQ funds, these are officially accounted for and audited as part of the national accounts. Jon gave a quick sketch on what our performance has been. We have gone backwards very slightly which resulted in us eating into our reserves slightly. Considering the current economic climate this was not unexpected. We have been very grateful for our Partners of CDM Smith, Minter Ellison and Origin Energy that have assisted the Division with their financial support. All Divisions had an increase in the funds returned to them by the Central Office from \$6 to \$12 as a membership rebate. David Carberry has preformed the task of Councillor during the past 12 months. During this time the SEQ Division have been instrumental in assisting to build better governance and planning for the organisation as a whole. The aim is to have a clearer pathway for being a leading practitioner in environmental management and to better influence Environmental Policy. We have been had more influence with government in Queensland and time will show what we actually manage to achieve. We have met with the Minister for Environment and Heritage Protection three times during the past year. Members can see from the submissions	Moved by Alan Chenoweth, Seconded by Rod Welford.

TOPIC	ACTION	WHO/WHEN
	made that there is a broad range of issues that have been addressed. Jon advised that we were contacted by the Queensland Audit Office to seek our advice as to what we felt might need addressing when they conduct a performance audit within the Department of Environment and Heritage Protection and Department of Natural Resources and Mines particularly in relation to mining activities.	
	Jon showed a graph outlining the Professional Development program for 2012/13. He gave a special thanks to Vicki Low who works very hard to drive this program. The activities show varied success at having members attend and there is always a solid attendance by non members.	
	Virginia Barrios lead the Student and Early Career Practitioners committee and she has done a fabulous job.	
	We have spent more time this year on member engagement to ask what it is that members want as services for their money. This included the development of our monthly E-Bulletin which gives us a vehicle to communicate what is happening.	
	Jon wanted to recognise some of the member of the Institute. This included Hugh Lavery who was awarded with an Order of Australia. Vicki Low was presented with the Tor Hundloe Merit Award for the Young Environmental Practitioner of the Year at the 2012 Conference. David Carberry, Helen Ross, Cathy Crawley, Lee Benson and Darryl Low-Choy were awarded the level of Fellow within the Institute.	
	Jon advised that a number of members had attended two session to build the SEQ 2013-2015 Strategic Plan and copies were available	
Business arising from previous minutes (0 Mins)	There is no business arising from the previous minutes.	
Election of Committee Members (10 Mins)	There were no elections required as only one member had nominated for each position. The elected committee were: President: Jon Womersley Vice President: Kylee Creighton SEQ Divisional Councillor: David Carberry Professional Development Chair: Vicki Low Student and Early Careers Pract's Chair: Emma McIntosh Member Engagement: Anthony Hope General Committee: Brett McLennan	
Vote of thanks to 2012/13 Committee (3 Mins)	Jon asked the members to thank Virginia Barrios for her work as the SECP Chair for the past 12 months and welcomed Emma McIntosh who would be taking this role on going forward. A vote of thanks was given to the outgoing committee and a warm welcome was given to the new committee.	

TOPIC	ACTION	WHO/WHEN
	Jon thanked Danielle Bolton who is the Director of Association Solutions who have provided Secretariat	
	services for more than 10 years to the SEQ Division.	
	Danielle also provides the role of Secretary to the Division.	
General Business (5 Mins)	Jon welcomed Origin Energy as the newest partner of the	
General Dusiness (5 Mins)	SEQ Division and presented Rebecca Pickering with a	
	plaque of appreciation.	
	Jon presented David Carberry and Helen Ross with their	
	Fellowship Certificates.	
Close	The meeting was declared closed at 6.25pm. The meeting	
	was followed by a presentation by Mike McKensey, Head	
	of Carbon Trading, Commodities, Carbon and Energy, the	
	Westpac Group.	